Home / Automotive / News / Bottas Goes Top After Winning Azerbaijan Formula 1 Grand Prix


Valtteri Bottas clung held on to first place at the Azerbaijan Formula 1 Grand Prix as his teammate, Lewis Hamilton, charged him down, making it a record-setting four one-two wins in a row for Mercedes.

Lewis Hamilton had a dashing start from second on the grid to challenge pole-starter Valtteri Bottas into the first corner but Bottas held on to the lead from the first lap, taking the chequered flag a year after he was robbed of victory by a puncture late in the race. Hamilton hung on to second place with Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel finishing third.

Max Verstappen in his Red Bull took fourth with Charles Leclerc managing to claim fifth in his Ferrari after a crash in qualifying had him start eighth on the grid.

Leclerc started the race on medium tyres and managed to take the lead during the middle of the race, only to succumb to those on a different pitting strategy, eventually finishing a minute behind Bottas even after pitting for fresh rubber. Once again, questions have been raised around Ferrari's strategy for the talented youngster, especially considering he took the honours for the fastest lap of the race.

With Bottas and Hamilton taking the top two positions of the Azerbaijan Formula 1 Grand Prix, Mercedes have become the first team to take four one-two victories in a row and, if Ferrari doesn't come up with a solution to rein them in soon, it'll be a runaway massacre for the German team.

Check out the highlights of the race here.

Race result
1       Valtteri Bottas – Mercedes
2       Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes
3       Sebastian Vettel – Ferrari
4       Max Verstappen – Red Bull/Honda
5       Charles Leclerc – Ferrari
6       Sergio Perez – Racing Point/Mercedes
7       Carlos Sainz Jr. – McLaren/Renault
8       Lando Norris – McLaren/Renault
9       Lance Stroll – Racing Point/Mercedes
10     Kimi Raikkonen – Alfa Romeo/Ferrari
11     Alexander Albon – Toro Rosso/Honda
12     Antonio Giovinazzi – Alfa Romeo/Ferrari
13     Kevin Magnussen – Haas/Ferrari
14     Nico Hulkenberg – Renault
15     George Russell – Williams/Mercedes
16     Robert Kubica – Williams/Mercedes
DNF   Pierre Gasly – Red Bull/Honda
DNF   Romain Grosjean – Haas/Ferrari
DNF   Daniil Kvyat – Toro Rosso/Honda
DNF   Daniel Ricciardo – Renault

Top 10 Funniest Formula 1 Press Conferences!
Hamilton Wins Silverstone F1 After Verstappen-Vettel Collision
Hamilton Scores Record 7th Canadian GP Win After Vettel Penalty
Lewis Hamilton Wins The Monaco Formula 1 Grand Prix
Top 10 Formula 1 Car Design Secrets
More Skin Revealed Of The New 2019 McLaren Grand Tourer
Ferrari Reliability Robs Leclerc Victory As Hamilton Wins In Bahrain F1
Drag: Mercedes-AMG A 35 vs Honda Civic Type R vs Volkswagen Golf R
BMW Announces Their M850i xDrive Coupe First Edition